21
Apr
07

The real “kisah benar”

Kisah benar means true stories. And there is no reason to doubt that these are true stories, and they are happening in my country.

Children, mostly babies are trafficked from neighbouring countries for sale to childless couples in Malaysia, especially via Indonesia to Sabah and Sarawak. In January 2004, the Star newspapers reported about a 2 month old boy and a 2 week old girl, induced with sleeping pill-laced milk, then packed in a Styrofoam box to be transported for sale

My eldest sister promised me a job in her shop in Malaysia. On arrival she sold me for RM6000 to a man. I was only 17 years old, I cried and pleaded, she told me to shut my eyes and just endure the pain. After this I was forced to do sex-work in a karaoke. – S.P. (aged 17 – passport age 19) from Cambodia

It is saddening that your own sister would betray you for money. What drives these people? But then again, if given the same situation, would I have acted any differently?

What does disappoint me is the lack of public theology in our Churches against systemic sins of these nature. While there are quite a few individual Christians and Christian NGOs (mainly foreign based) involved in the struggle against human trafficking, human rights abuse, etc, the Church as an institution remains primarily silent in the public arena on these matters. It is as if these things don’t really matter in the grand scheme of the Kingdom of God. One is forced to wonder what kind of testimony the Church is giving to the world?

The above was written by the author of this blog, Bobjots: Redux. In an age where we get disillusioned so easily, could one of the reasons be that that pleasure have dulled us until we forget that there are others less fortunate than us. Have I made myself so friendly with “God” that I forget that He is also a God to these disenfranchised people?


Technorati : , , ,

1 Response to “The real “kisah benar””


  1. April 22, 2007 at 4:24 am

    Appreciate you giving this issue some blog-time. We often don’t speak out until we get on the receiving end of the mailed fist.

    Kyrie Eleison.


Leave a Reply

About me

moogleBorn and bred in KL, Malaysia. Now studying for his Phd in Singapore. Learning to walk one fall at a time.
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,928 hits

